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  RULES OF THE STATE PERSONNEL BOARD  
478-1-.31 Families First Coronavirus Response Leave 

 

(1) Introduction: 
 

This temporary State Personnel Board Rule shall be read in conjunction with the 
provisions of State Personnel Board Rule 478-1-.23, Family and Medical Leave, (Rule 23) 
and State Personnel Board Rule 478-1-.16, Absence from Work, (Rule 16) and shall 
provide for compliance with the federal Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA) 
enacted on March 18, 2020. 

 
(a) The Emergency Family Medical Leave Expansion Act of the FFCRA provides a job- 

protected leave entitlement for eligible employees who are incapable of teleworking 
due to a need for leave to care for the employee’s son or daughter under 18 years of 
age if the school or place of care has been closed, or the childcare provider of the 
son or daughter is unavailable due to a public health emergency. State agencies shall 
administer the Emergency Family and Medical Leave in accordance with the FFCRA 
and any related regulations. 

 
(b) The Emergency Paid Sick Leave Act of the FFCRA provides an administrative leave 

benefit which provides for 80 hours of paid leave for six qualifying reasons (see 
Section (5)(b)). State agencies shall administer the Emergency Paid Sick Leave Act in 
accordance with the FFCRA and any related regulations. 

 
(c) Each state employer should establish procedures for employees to request and 

receive approval for absences from work that meet the eligibility requirements for 
Emergency Family and Medical Leave or Emergency Paid Sick Leave. An employee is 
expected to return to work and/or telework as scheduled at the expiration of the 
approved absence. If an extension is necessary, the employee must follow the 
agency’s established procedures for requesting an extension prior to the leave 
expiration or adhere to other agency procedures for requesting an extension of 
leave. 

 
(d) Prior to engaging in other employment, including self-employment, while on leave 

employees must comply with the notice and other requirements set forth in State 
Personnel Board Rule 478-1-.07, Outside Employment. 

 
(e) State employers shall not discriminate or retaliate against an individual for exercising 

any right to Emergency Family and Medical Leave or Emergency Paid Sick Leave. 
 

(f) To the extent that the U.S. Department of Labor or any other federal administration 
authority issues regulations that conflict with this Rule, the federally issued 
regulations shall control. 
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(2) Applicability: 
 

The policies and procedures described in this Rule apply to all agencies of the Executive 
Branch, excluding the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. 

 
(3) Definitions: 

 
For the purposes of this Rule, the following terms and definitions apply in addition to 
those in 478-1-.02, Terms and Definitions: 

 
(a) “Administrative leave” means paid time off for specified reasons defined in state or 

federal law. This paid time off is not charged to accrued leave and the duration is 
defined in the applicable statute. 

 
(b) “Childcare provider” means a provider who receives compensation for providing 

childcare services on a regular basis. 
 

(c) “Public health emergency” means an emergency with respect to COVID-19 as 
declared by the Governor of Georgia, the federal government, or a local authority. 

 
(d) “Rolling 12-month Period” or “Rolling Year” is the 12-month period measured 

backward from the date an employee uses any Family and Medical Leave. Under the 
“rolling year,” each time an employee takes Family and Medical Leave, the 
remaining leave entitlement would be the balance of the 12 weeks which has not 
been using during the immediately preceding 12 months. 

 
(e) “School” means an elementary school, including nonprofit institutional day or 

residential schools and public elementary charter schools that provide elementary 
education, as determined under state law. School also means secondary school, 
including nonprofit institutional day or residential schools and public secondary 
charter schools that provide secondary education, as determined under state law. 

 
(f) “Workday” means a day an employee is regularly scheduled to work. 

 
(4) Emergency Expansion of Family and Medical Leave: 

 
(a) Employee Eligibility: 
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1. For purposes of determining an employee’s eligibility for Emergency Family and 
Medical Leave, the state is considered one employer. 

 
2. To be eligible an employee must have been employed for at least thirty (30) 

calendar days. 
 

3. Time worked for the State of Georgia in any employment capacity will count 
toward meeting the eligibility criteria in Section (4)(a)2 above. Such employment 
includes full-time, part-time, temporary, and seasonal employment, whether 
paid on a salaried or hourly basis. Time worked for a state employer as a worker 
assigned from a temporary staffing agency shall also be counted if the same 
worker is subsequently hired by the state employer. 

 
(b) Qualifying Need Related to a Public Health Emergency: 

 
The only qualifying need under which an eligible employee may request Emergency 
Family and Medical Leave is when the employee is unable to work or telework due 
to a need for leave to care for the employee’s son or daughter under 18 years of age 
if the school or place of care has been closed, or the childcare provider of the son or 
daughter is unavailable to due to a public health emergency. 

 
(c) Leave Entitlement: 

 
1. An eligible employee is entitled to take up to 12 workweeks of Family and 

Medical Leave during a rolling 12-month period, measured backward from the 
date an employee uses any Family and Medical Leave, for any qualifying reason 
provided in State Personnel Board Rule 23, Family and Medical Leave, or for the 
qualifying need related to a public health emergency as described in Section 
(4)(b) above. 

 
2. Intermittent Leave: 

 
(i) Eligible employees may take Emergency Family and Medical Leave on an 

intermittent or reduced schedule basis, upon approval by the state 
employer, provided intermittent leave is granted in a consistent manner to 
all staff. 

 
(ii) Any employee requesting to take Emergency Family and Medical Leave on an 

intermittent basis must have the schedule of the leave approved by the state 
employer and must receive prior approval for any adjustments to the 
schedule. 
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(d) Paid Leave Provisions: 
 

State employers shall provide compensation for each workday of Emergency Family 
and Medical Leave an employee takes after the first ten (10) workdays of such leave 
as follows: 

 
1. For full-time, salaried employees, the amount of compensation provided for 

Emergency Family and Medical Leave shall be no less than two-thirds (2/3) of the 
employee’s regular rate of pay provided such pay shall never exceed $200.00 per 
day or $10,000.00 in the aggregate. 

 
2. For part-time and/or hourly employees, the amount of compensation provided 

for Emergency Family and Medical Leave shall be based upon the number of 
hours the employee would otherwise normally be scheduled to work at no less 
than two-thirds (2/3) the regular rate of pay per hour. Such pay shall never 
exceed $200.00 per day or $10,000.00 in the aggregate. 

 
If the employee’s hours normally vary from week to week, to the extent that the 
state employer is unable to determine the number of hours the employee would 
have worked with certainty, then the state employer shall calculate the number 
of hours as follows: 

 
(i) The average number of hours the employee was scheduled to work each day 

over the 6-month period ending on the date on which the employee is to 
begin the Emergency Family and Medical Leave. 

 
(ii) If the employee did not work over a 6-month period, then the number of 

hours shall be based on the reasonable expectation of the employee at the 
time of hire of the average number of hours per day the employee would 
normally be scheduled to work. 

 
3. An employee may elect to use accrued annual leave, personal leave, holiday 

deferral leave, compensatory time, or emergency paid sick leave (see Section (5) 
below) during the first ten (10) workdays of Emergency Family Medical Leave. 

 
(e) Employee Notice Requirements: 

 
1. Where the need for Emergency Family and Medical Leave is foreseeable, the 

employee is expected to provide the state employer the maximum notice 
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practicable. Where the need arises unexpectedly, the state employer may 
require the employee to follow customary call-in procedures. 

 
2. A state employer may require that an employee’s notice of leave include the 

anticipated start date and the anticipated duration but must consider the 
employee’s potential inability to know when a school or childcare provider may 
reopen or become available again. 

 
(f) Reinstatement Requirements: 
 

At the expiration of Emergency Family Medical Leave, an employee is entitled to 
reinstatement to the same or an equivalent position held prior to the leave. 

 
1. An equivalent position is one which has substantially similar duties and 

responsibilities and equivalent benefits, pay, and other terms and conditions of 
employment. 

 
2. There is no greater right to reinstatement than if the employee had remained at 

work, rather than take the leave. For example, if the position or equivalent 
position held by the employee when the leave began does not exist due to 
economic conditions or other changes in the operation of the agency that affect 
employment and were caused by the public health emergency during the period 
of leave, then the employee is not entitled to reinstatement. See Section (4)(f)3 
below regarding the FFCRA requirement to contact the employee regarding 
future equivalent opportunities. 

 
3. Period of Required Contact: 

 
If the position or an equivalent position does not exist when the leave expires, 
state employers with fewer than twenty-five (25) employees must make 
reasonable efforts to contact the employee if such an equivalent position 
becomes available for a period of one (1) year. The one (1) year must begin on 
the date the qualifying need related to the public health emergency ends or the 
date that is 12 weeks after the date on which the employee’s leave commences, 
whichever is earlier. 

 
(5) Emergency Paid Sick Leave 

 
(a) Employee Eligibility: 
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1. All employees are eligible, regardless of tenure, to receive administrative 
Emergency Paid Sick Leave if the employee is unable to work or telework due to 
an approved use for leave listed below in Section (5)(b). 

 
2. No employee shall be required to use other accrued leave or compensatory time 

prior to Emergency Paid Sick Leave. 
 

3. No employee shall be required to identify a replacement for his or her absence 
while taking Emergency Paid Sick Leave. 

 
(b) Approved Uses of Emergency Paid Sick Leave: 

 
1. The employee is subject to a federal, state, or local quarantine or isolation order 

related to COVID-19. 
 

2. The employee has been advised by a healthcare provider to self-quarantine due to 
concerns related to COVID-19. 

 
3. The employee is experiencing symptoms of COVID-19 and is seeking medical 

diagnosis. 
 

4. The employee is caring for an individual who is subject to a federal, state, or local 
quarantine or isolation order or has been advised by a healthcare provider to self- 
quarantine. 

 
5. The employee is caring for a son or daughter of such employee if the school or 

place of care of the son or daughter has been closed or the childcare provider of 
such son or daughter is unavailable due to COVID-19 precautions. 

 
6. The employee is experiencing any other substantially similar condition specified by 

the Secretary of Health and Human Services in consultation with the Secretary of 
the Treasury and the Secretary of Labor. 

 
(c) Amount of Leave: 

 
1. Full-time employees are entitled to 80 hours of leave. 

 
2. Part-time employees are entitled to the number of hours such employee works, 

on average, over a two-week period. 
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3. The amount of leave for employees on irregular schedules shall be based on the 
average number of hours over a two-week period the employee worked the six (6) 
months prior to taking Emergency Paid Sick Leave. Employees who have been 
employed for less than six (6) months prior to taking Emergency Paid Sick Leave 
shall receive the average number of hours the employee reasonably expected to 
work over a two-week period upon hire. 

 
4. Emergency Paid Sick Leave shall not carry over to the following year. 

 
(d) Amount of Compensation Due: 

 
1. For approved uses of Emergency Paid Sick Leave under Sections (5)(b) 1 – 3 above, 

the employee’s leave is calculated at the regular rate of pay capped at $511.00 per 
day and $5,110.00 in the aggregate. 

 
2. For approved uses of Emergency Paid Sick Leave under Sections (5)(b) 4 – 6 above, 

the employee’s leave is calculated at two-thirds (2/3) the regular rate of pay 
capped at $200.00 per day and $2,000.00 in the aggregate. 

 
(e) Employee Notice Requirements: 

 
1. Where the need for Emergency Paid Sick Leave is foreseeable, the employee is 

expected to provide the state employer the maximum notice practicable. Where 
the need arises unexpectedly, the state employer may require the employee to 
follow customary call-in procedures. 

 
2. A state employer may require that an employee’s notice of leave include the 

anticipated start date and the anticipated duration, but must take into account the 
employee’s potential inability to know when a school or childcare provider may 
reopen or become available again, or when a quarantine or isolation order or 
recommendation may end. 

 
(f) Interaction with Emergency Expansion of Family and Medical Leave: 

 
1. At the request of an employee, Emergency Paid Sick Leave shall be approved to be 

used during the first ten (10) unpaid workdays of Emergency Family and Medical 
Leave. 

 
2. Employees may request to use accrued annual leave, personal leave, holiday 

deferral leave, or compensatory time, rather than Emergency Paid Sick Leave, to 
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compensate the first ten (10) unpaid workdays of Emergency Family and Medical 
Leave. 

 
(6) Employer Notice Requirement: 

 
Each state employer shall post and keep posted, in conspicuous locations on agency 
premises where notices to employees are customarily placed, the FFCRA notice 
prepared by and approved by the US Secretary of Labor. State employers may satisfy 
this requirement by emailing or direct mailing the model notice to employees or 
posting the model notice on an employee information internal or external website until 
such time the state employer can post the notice on agency premises. 

 
(7) Effective Date and Sunset Provision: 

 
This Board Rule shall become effective on April 1, 2020, upon the Governor’s signature, 
and shall expire on December 31, 2020. 

 
Authority: 
O.C.G.A. §§ 45-20-3, 45-20-3.1, and 45-20-4 (duties and functions of the State Personnel Board and 
Department of Administrative Services related to the Rules of the State Personnel Board); O.C.G.A. 
§ 45-20-16 (State Personnel Board Authority to establish rules for accrual and usage of leave) 

Federal Law References: 

Pub. L. No. 116-127 – Families First Coronavirus Response Act 
29 U.S.C. § 2601, et. seq. – Family and Medical Leave Act 
29 C.F.R. Part 825 – US DOL Family and Medical Leave Regulations 
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